ECHO underway Posts

June 6 – Today in Connecticut History – D-Day (posted Sunday, June 6, 2010)
News of the 1944 D-Day Invasion Reaches Naugatuck

Turn Off the Taps and Turn Up the Music (posted Friday, July 16, 2010)
The Deep River Ancient Muster

“Voodoo Macbeth”: The Federal Theatre Project in Bridgeport and Hartford (posted Tuesday, July 20, 2010)
The Federal Theatre Project in Connecticut

It’s Shark Week! (posted Monday, August 2, 2010)
Connecticut Doesn’t Need to Watch Shark Week Because It’s Here

Shark Stories and the Archive (posted Tuesday, August 3, 2010)
Finding a Fish Story in Guilford

Fish Tales and the Archive (posted Wednesday, August 4, 2010)
Shark Attacks in Connecticut

Land Sharks (posted Thursday, August 5, 2010)
The “Loan Shark Devil” in Connecticut

A Connecticut Shark in the Hudson River (posted Friday, August 6, 2010)
A Row Galley in the American Revolution

September 6 – Today in Connecticut History (posted Monday, September 6, 2010)
The Turtle and the Eagle

What No Woman Should Be Without (posted Tuesday, October 5, 2010)
The Technology of Dress Shields, Made in Bridgeport

A Month of Connecticut Cookery (posted Monday, November 1, 2010)
Introducing a Month-long Consideration of Connecticut Cuisine, But No Nutmeg

History and Memory, Food and Forgetting (posted Tuesday, November 9, 2010)
Sachem’s Head Corn Cake

Why Are Clam Lovers So Shellfish? (posted Wednesday, November 10, 2010)
A Recipe for Connecticut Clam Pie

Shad. Need We Say More? (posted Wednesday, November 17, 2010)
Featuring “Shad Shack” (with apologies to the B-52s and their epic hit, “Love Shack”)

“Always, When Possible, Garnish with Parsley or Something Else Green” (posted Monday, November 22, 2010)
Maria Parloa’s Gifts to Cuisine and to Bethel

The Enduring Debate; or, Is Offal Always Awful?: The Historic Case for Giblets (Tuesday, November 23, 2010)
In the Gravy?  Or the Dressing?  (Or is that Stuffing?)

Before* There Was Football…. (posted Friday, November 26, 2010)
Thanksgiving Weekend Entertainment

From Aprons to Lab Coats: The Art and Science of Home Economics (posted Monday, November 29, 2010)
Shifting Ideas About Women at the University of Connecticut

Dr. Graham’s Advice (posted Tuesday, November 30, 2010)
What To Do After That Big Thanksgiving Dinner

Witnessing History (posted Tuesday, December 7, 2010)
A Connecticuter at Pearl Harbor

ECHO, translated (posted Thursday, December 9, 2010)
Building A Website Requires One of Those Newfangled Dictionaries

The More Things Change, the More They Stay the Same (posted Tuesday, December 21, 2010)

Connecticut, Winter Wonderland (posted Wednesday, December 29, 2010)
The Federal Writers’ Project Tells You to Ski Connecticut!

Noah Webster Spells Out the Weather (posted Tuesday, January 4, 2011)
Worst. Winter. Ever.

Following the Path (posted Monday January 17, 2011)
Thoughts on Martin Luther King, Jr.’s Experience in Simsbury and Service

Noah Webster on Climate Change (posted Tuesday, January 18, 2011)
Did Webster Anticipate Climate Change?

January 24 – Today in Connecticut History – A Total Eclipse of the Sun (posted Monday, January 24, 2011)
An Amateur Captures the Event

In Winter the Birds Know Better (posted Monday, January 31, 2011)
The Connecticut Warbler Isn’t From Connecticut

Disaster! Today in History – February 18, 1889 (posted Friday, February 18, 2011)
The Park Central Hotel’s Steam Boiler Explodes

A Picture is Worth a Gazillion Words (posted Thursday, February 24, 2011)
Researching an “Anonymous” Photograph

“Travel is fatal to prejudice” (posted Monday, February 28, 2011)
The Negro Motorist Green Book and Traveling in Connecticut

A Day for Women (posted Tuesday, March 8, 2011)
The Centennial of International Women’s Day and Connecticut Feminists

That Signature Look (posted Tuesday March 22, 2011)
Katharine Hepburn’s Clothing on Display

Bridgeport Women Answer the Call (posted Wednesday, April 13, 2011)
The Civil War’s First Soldier’s Aid Society is Founded in Bridgeport

Advertisements